Louisiana Bans Abortions After 15 Weeks
Louisiana became the second state to pass a 15-week abortion ban after its governor signed the measure into law Wednesday.
Gov. John Bel Edwards, a Democrat, signed the bill banning abortions past 15 weeks gestation and punishing those who transgress the law. Persons who attempt to or successfully abort an unborn baby past the 15-week mark face prison time and up to $100,000 in fines. The law does not include exceptions for rape or incest.
“For us to rank at the top nationally among states who protect the lives of the unborn, I think that’s a harbinger of blessing for our state,” said bill sponsor state Sen. John Milkovich, a Democrat.
Previously, Louisiana was one of twenty states that ban abortions after more than 20 weeks gestation.
Mississippi was the first state to ban abortions after 15 weeks in pregnancy on May 19 after its Republican Gov. Phil Bryant signed the measure into law. Bryan signed House Bill 1510, which bans women from having abortions after 15 weeks gestation unless the unborn baby is expected to not survive outside the womb or if continuing the pregnancy will jeopardize the woman’s life.
Copyright 2018 Daily Caller News Foundation
Content created by The Daily Caller News Foundation is available without charge to any eligible news publisher that can provide a large audience. For licensing opportunities of our original content, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.